Quit Yo’ Complainin’!

10 10 2007

Halo 3 & Madden 08. My gaming combination that has frequented my Xbox 360 these past couple months. Halo 3 with the online play that I so dearly love, and Madden 08 with the franchise mode that has sucked me in ever since I got it. I do have a few niches with both games, and since I’m so good at recognizing the flaws in a game, due to the simple fact that I have very little of a life and spend countless hours playing these games, I am going to share them with you all.

If I still have your attention, I think I’ll keep it by complaining about the almighty Halo 3. Greatest game ever, not even close. Worthy of the hype…eh, not so much. How can a game such as Halo 3 still feel rushed with a lot of little details in the game miss. OBVIOUS things, not just hidden things that took forever for me to find. Such as, your in a party with a buddy and your not in control of the party. Unlike Halo 2, where you could see what you was going to play or whatever the party leader selected, you cant see that in Halo 3. Again, its a minor detail that i don’t care about, but if they missed this what else could they have slipped up on?

Meleeing in the game reminds me a lot like Halo 2. Its a hit or miss theme, and the majority of the time you’re getting the bad end of the deal. I read recently about how your health has a lot to do whether you kill someone or not. Of course i don’t believe this one bit. For instance, we shoot each other at the same time and melee at the same time, who dies? Do we both die? No, there’s a split second where i may have swung first or the enemy swings first. It still feels lackluster and awkward trying to kill someone with a melee.

               

                                          Like the blue team player, Halo 3 might feel like a hit or miss.

The power weapons seemed dumb down, but for a good reason. It actually takes an ounce of skill to play the game and be good at it. The sword might be my biggest complaint simply because it takes forever to take out and kill a person. I do however like the idea of their being an energy level on it and not just infinite energy, but why take 8 seconds to pull it out and swing? It’s not like Master Chief is assembling it before he kills someone.

I’ve played enough of the game to know what maps i like and what maps i don’t like. Of course there are different playing styles that we play with, but Guardian seems to be the new Lockout. I still think Lockout might be the greatest map of all time simply because of the way its structured and the strategic weapon placement. The other maps in H3 really seem flat to me, not really interesting and weapon placement seems like someone just took a random guess as to where to put each one. Yes, i know it takes time for the community to play a game and decide where each weapon should go, but I sometimes think Bungie is relying a lot on what their community wants and there for it almost seems like an obligation to tell them. Surprise me, please. I appreciate the gesture of listening to the communities complaints, but make it seem like you ACTUALLY tried to make the maps well rounded and versatile.

 

                

                                                                      Is EA falling from the throne?

WHEW! Ok, onto Madden. I’ll make this short. I really dislike EA’s laziness. I want a real football game that actually seems real. We’re in year 3 of Madden on the 360 and we still don’t have the chain gang on the sidelines?? W-T-F! Am I the only person that notices, that they’re are no nets behind the goal posts, like in MOST NFL stadiums to stop the ball from going into the stands. Announcer is retarded, ally A.I. is about as useful as Britney Spears at a daycare, and the opponent A.I. has more juice in them than Barry Bonds. Throw in the fact that you cant edit your created team yet you can edit your created player. How about the idea that Marshal Faulk wont STFU when your trying to end the game and he wants to sit there and have a freaking tea-party with you. C’mon EA!! This is shameful. Your the most widely known brand in the gaming industry and you reward your loyal fans with half-assed garbage that your community has been complaining about for YEARS. The day EA Sports makes a good quality football game, is the day that EA has earned my respect. Until then, I’ll continue to shell out $63 for another sorry attempt at making an NFL game with the latest roster update.

 

–backdraft123


Actions

Information

One response

10 10 2007
Aaron

Now its my turn , here we go…. Halo 3-Ok I agree with you on the party system , melee and the maps. The whole thing about taking the sword and it taking for ever, well you lost me there , I tap Y and its out .. The maps are ok I like most of the outdoor stuff. As far lockout being the best map ever ….I think lockout is like the Chicago Bears last year everone jumped on the bandwagon and look they really do suck. But I do like Gaurdian I think its a much better version of lock out. Halo3 dosent feel like it was a game that took 3 years to make with 150 people on the job. The campaign is fun and the story dose the job , but far from being EPIC. As far as Bungie goes well………I think they do a great job. The problem is that everyone wants it to be their way and Bungie can only do what works for them and what ever feedback they got from the community. I really think they tried hard and the still delivered the most robust gaming expierence around (untill orange box comes out later this morning ). I think they are all burnt out on halo. Anyway when ur the top dog like halo is I think ur going to get alot of feedback good and bad, but yeah im bored of Halo 3 already anyway.
 
Madden-EA need to buy 2K sports not the rights to the NFL. I picked up APF 2K8 for 30 bucks and you know what its worth $30. Not saying its bad but hears the deal…….mix Madden\’s gameplay and 2K8\’s presentaion and u got a great game. Madden doent feel real at all or exciting, 2K8 dose. Nuff said.
Ill shut up now…………..

Leave a comment