Kidney Stones Suck!

8 06 2006
This morning at around 12 AM, i began having some lower to mid back problems on my left side. For about 30 minutes the pain was just uncomfortable. I got up took a shower and tried to just walk it off, thinking that i must have been leaning on my side the wrong way…..i was wrong.
 
After my shower, at around 1:30 AM, i start having more problems. You can laugh if you want, but my left testical (or nut, ball, whatever you want to call it) was hurting. I felt like i just got a swift kick in the nuts…about 20 times. Again, i had no idea what the problem was, and just thought that i would "go away." I was wrong about that too…
 
About 1 hour goes by before i finally give in and wake up my dad. I could hardly stand, i couldnt sit and i couldnt lay down. I go into his room and just tell him everything. Oh, and not to mention, i got sick a couple of times also. All that came up was water…no food at all.
 
After about 1 hour of him searching around on the internet trying to figure out what in the world is wrong with me, he finally decides to take me up to the hospital. I havent been to a hospital in a LOOOOOONG time. I think the last time i was there for my own personal need, was when i slipped a disc in my neck and was there to get Xrays and such.
 
So, we get to the hospital i tell the 2 people that ask me what happened. They check my vital signs and such, and have me just sit there with some of the worst pain i have ever felt in my 16 years of life on Earth. They finally tell me to go back into one of the rooms with the standard hospital bed, needles, and stuff like that. I thought i was staying overnight….i was wrong about that.
 
I pee in a cup, they take some samples. They stick an IV in me, which didnt really hurt at all. Take some samples of my blood, and give me a pain killer. Morphine, which i thought was going to work wonders, just dulled the pain. Made me a little light-headed for about 20 seconds and then that went away. By now, its about 4:00 AM and i am dead tired. Im pretty sure it wasnt the morphine that made me so tired, but anyway….more fun was still yet to come.
 
They take me over to the room where they have their CAT-SCANS. Its another first for me. Basically lay down on the bed and they scan your body for anything suspicious. I almost fell asleep on that bed, but the guy woke me up when it was done.
 
Go back to my room….wait about 10 minutes before they give me 2 more things of morphine. Again, it just dulled the pain, nothing else. 20 minutes later, DR. comes in and says "well, its a kidney stone for sure". Im like "im only 16….not 50. How do i get a kidney stone?" She just smiled handed my dad this pink sheet explaining everything, and that was pretty much it.
 
So now, i have 2 things of medicine. One if a pain killer and the other is medicine to clear out any urinary diseases. That was my fun and exciting morning.
 
–backdraft123

Actions

Information

8 responses

8 06 2006
sara

AWW  BRAD!! 🙂 You\’ll be okay. :-*

8 06 2006
Eugene L

I hope they pass in the most delicate fashion. I have dreaded getting kidney stones since I found out what they were, and I do not wish that kind of pain on anyone. Stay strong, dude.

8 06 2006
Aaron

There nothing funny about pain or going to the hospital , im a pro at it or used to be thank god. sorry to hear about troubles BD hope ur feelin better. Dont feel bad what happen to me a the age of 34 , happens to people that are in ther 50\’s so i know how u fell man.

8 06 2006
Kevin

Oh man dude, that sucks. 😦 Good luck

9 06 2006
I

I\’m so sorry!  How are you feeling today?  Take care of yourself, I hope you feel better soon!

10 06 2006
Patrick

Get better old man!

12 06 2006
SCHUEY F1

Hope you feel better soon, and drink more coffee, keeps your system clean, lol.

14 06 2006
Fenyx

Ouch.  How\’d I miss this post.  Hope you\’re feeling better.

Leave a comment