Game Review: Fight Night Round 3

24 05 2006
                                                              

Without a doubt, the Fight Night series is one of the best sports series out on the market today. So, how does a game like “Fight Night Round 3” introduce itself into the next generation of gaming? By, being one of the best for the Xbox 360.

 

Of course, by now, most of you have heard about OXM giving out its first ever score of “10”. With games like, Halo: Combat Evolved, Halo 2, Splinter Cell: Chaos Theory, Forza, The Elder Scrolls III: Morrowind, Call of Duty 2, Ghost Recon Advanced Warfighter, and even The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion that where all given pretty high scores, how does FNR3 beat out all these historic titles? It is a truly a next-gen game.

 

Game play is a crucial point to a game. If it doesn’t have solid game play, the game will not sell. PERIOD. You’ll notice there is something wrong as soon as you start your first fight. There is no health bar, fatigue bar, round, or round time. It has been completely removed. It gives you the feel that you are standing in the ring watching the two men battle it out.

 

   

 

The career is a great thing to play. I like the ability to customize your fighter with certain types of ring attire, tattoos, taunts, and even illegal blows. The training mini-games within the career mode are pretty fun to play and sometimes you’ll actually look forward to trying them out.

 

Controls, I had to toggle with. I wasn’t too big on the whole “hit stick” thing. Mainly cause I was so used to using the buttons in the original Fight Night. Though, the hit stick is a great concept, I am a lot more fast on the buttons than I am on the stick. I wont deduct a point for that because it still gives you the option to switch to the type of controls that fit you best.

 

I really didn’t have much of a chance to get a run on the online play. My good friend TormentX, gladly pounded my face in a few rounds, but when I rent or even buy this game again, I think it might change. (Yes, I’m calling you out Torment!) For the most part, it is silky smooth during fights. Minor lag only happens if your sending a message, listening to music, in a private chat, and trying to fight at the same time. Other than that, you’ll be good.

Pros

  • True next-gen game play
  • Great career mode
  • Graphics, character motion, features, and physics are all superb

Cons

  • $700,000 for a pair of boxing shorts! (Id like to seem them add in real life prices)
  • No online lobby for you and your buds
  • The announcer is a little TOO excited about the fight

I really wanted to see a game lobby, similar to the one that you will find in Dead or Alive 4. I think the ability to wait in line while watching your friends face off is a great thing that nearly all game should have. Cheering on your friends chanting for a knockout could be a lot of fun. Fight Night Round 3 still delivers a TKO, without a doubt.

 

 

Final Score

9.4/10

 

 

–backdraft123

 

 

 


Actions

Information

5 responses

24 05 2006
Joe

This game was one of my favorites for the 360 so far. I liked it so much I lent it to my nephew after I finished the achievements and wish I had it back now to fight online. Oh well, I have plenty of other games to keep me busy.Godd review, as always.

25 05 2006
Fenyx

Yeah I really enjoyed this game but I\’ve sort of forgotten it in the shuffle of all the new games.  I finished my career but I did miss one achievement so I\’ll get back into it eventually.

26 05 2006
Robert

Great Review, BD! You just convinced me to re-download the demo. Oh, and I think my Blockbuster started renting 360 games finally, so I will be sure to try this game out. Oh, and who doesn\’t have a pair of $700,000 shorts?!

26 05 2006
Debbie

I gotta have that game!Thanks a bunch for the review.*peace out*

28 05 2006
Wayne

This has been one of my favorites since it released. When you do get the game, it is worth learing the hit stick since it gives you much more control over the power of your swings.
Great review!

Leave a comment